My Big Fat New Revelation – Old Cameras Have Settings!

A few days ago, I decided to look around my house and see if I could find any of my old cameras that I bought in the past. I’m happy to say that I found a few. One camera, I didn’t even remember I had! After joyfully looking at them all and playing with the settings, I had a revelation. Better photography has been at my fingertips all these years and I never realized it. I’ve never played around with camera settings until now! (Gulp!) They were all Auto-Focus and I thought that was the BEST setting to ALWAYS use. A few weeks ago I took a DSLR Photography class on Craftsy and my entire photography life was changed forever!

You see before I took the Craftsy course, I thought my new-found love of photography and new found ability to achieve a better quality picture, was all about having Big Fat New DSLR Camera. By today’s standards a DSLR is one of the best camera’s you can have today to take incredibly beautiful pictures. My Big Fat New Camera has a lot of bells and whistles which, of course, were not available to the general public or a hobbyist like me. At least I don’t think the 1988 equivalent to a quality camera of today’s stardards would be cheap enough to be purchased by a hobbyist like me.

So, back to the camera I found today that captured my interest. It was the oldest camera I owned and it was a Pentax IQZoom 900. Now, I do remember having this camera, but I didn’t remember when I bought it.  I looked on the web and found an old posting from the magazine, Popular Photography, dated 1989 and it featured an article entitled, “Break Out Of Your Creative Rut With Pentax IQ Zoom Cameras.” I can’t actually tell if it’s a real “article” or an extended advertisement presented in an article format because there is no author listed. There is a typical advertisement for this camera on the page preceding the article so the two may be connected. You may be able to see the article through this link: http://bit.ly/1AGqQPh (don’t worry, it’s a harmless link). Any way, once I realized this camera is from from the late 1980’s (OMG!), I realized I probably bought this camera around 1988 because I used this camera on my honeymoon to Walt Disney World in Florida in 1988. Here’s a scan of a picture of a swan I took with this camera back in 1988. (My bird theme continues from childhood!)

In 1988 I continue to take pictures of birds!

In 1988 I continue to take pictures of birds!

I can tell you exactly what setting the camera was – Auto Focus (surprise!) – actually it was Auto Everything, because I didn’t know the camera had settings. Yup, I admit that I did not know, until today, that this camera had settings that would affect the quality of my pictures!

When I sat down today to examine this vintage (not old) Pentax camera, I removed the dead batteries, put in new batteries, turned it on, and heard the motor do it’s thing just as if the camera was used last week! Then I pushed  the little tiny controls on the back of the camera that could only be depressed using my fingernail, and I saw little tiny symbols appear on the little tiny monochrome screen! One was a little sun (for taking pictures in bright light), a “B” “ME” “INT” and, settings for flash and continuous. Oh, and it has the count for number of pictures taken on the film. Did I mention that this camera I found today HAS film loaded in it?  Kodak Gold, 36 400/27. How long has this film been in the camera? I have no idea.

Here are pictures of the front and back of that camera.

CameraZOOM-20150111214056319

My Pentax Camera circa 1988

CameraZOOM-20150111213827194

The settings I “discovered” today – 27 years later. LOL!

Here are two more photos  taken with my Pentax camera in 1988:

img025

Cinderella’s Castle – Walt Disney World – 1988

img026

Here’s me – my name is Patty – this is 27 years ago.

So, I took this camera out for a stroll today and started snapping pictures. I zoomed in on my subject and snapped the first picture! Then I took the camera away from my eye to review it on the screen. However, there is no screen to review pictures! Wow, I haven’t used a camera without a screen to review photos in YEARS! How weird! But, for the first time in this Pentax camera’s existence, I selected the camera setting for “sun” as I was shooting outside in kinda bright light. Would my pictures have come out better back in 1988 had I turned on the “sun” setting while shooting pictures on my honeymoon?  I don’t know, but I hope to find out after I develop this film.

I’m not sure what the other settings on this camera are for (yet), but I found an old manual for this camera on the web so I’m going to print it out and see if I can use these other “advanced” settings.  Will these settings give me a better quality picture? I don’t know, but it will be fun trying!

If you have any suggestions for me with regard to using this camera. Let me know. Remember using this Pentax camera is just for fun and to reminisce. Who knows, I really may learn something here, because it seems to have some sort of “selfie” setting. Oh yeah, this I have to see!

 

Leave a Reply

